New members of Peterson Health Board of Directors named

Peterson Health has announced that they have named the newest members of the Board of Directors; Edward Walter Koenig III, of Kerrville, and Belinda Kay Pence, of Fredericksburg.

Koenig is married to Maria Giovanna Balestrucci and has three children. He is the President and CEO of the Kerrville Area Chamber of Commerce and has many notable achievements including earning his Eagle Scout, serving as a former U.S. Diplomat earning a Commander’s Award for Civilian Service in the US Army, along with many other accomplishments earned while serving our country. Koenig also serves on the board of Kerr Economic Development Corporation and is a board member on the Second Chance Wounded Warrior Weekend Adventure. He was a Steering Committee Member for the Kerrville 2050 Comprehensive Plan. He is involved in many more boards in our community and holds a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science at the University of Illinois.

Pence attended Texas A&M and is active in both the Kerrville and Fredericksburg communities and was a member of the initial group that started the private Trust Company of Houston Trust and is credited for developing the plan and compliance procedures to allow Sterling Bank to acquire a Trust Charter. She also served for Sterling Bank’s March of Dimes as the Chair and was a committee member for the Mardi Gras Kerrville in 2011. She is married to Charlie, has one daughter, and spends her spare time planting and maintaining a 10-acre vineyard at her home in Fredericksburg.

Patrick Murray, Peterson Health President, and CEO said, “Our PRMC board is comprised of strong and caring community leaders. We are so very thankful for the service and commitment of outgoing Chair, Harold Wilson and Royce Itschner who recently completed their board service. Each brought a thoughtful perspective about the communities served by Peterson and provided great leadership in enhancing the quality of our work. As we continue our journey to elevate health, and each other, I am excited to welcome our newest board members and look forward to the fresh perspective and experience each will bring to our high performing board.”

Koenig and Pence are set to serve a three-year term and will have the opportunity to serve two additional terms on the board of directors. Other board members include Mark Armstrong, Sarah Fontenot, Bill Johnston, Brian Bowers, William Morris, Jr., M.D., Bob Schmerbeck, Greg Shrader, Sue Steele, and James Young, M.D.